I hesitate to even write this evening. It was just such a crazy, mixed up day that I am not sure if it is meaningful for others to hear about it. Nevertheless, I have committed to write when I can as a matter of principle. To exercise my writing muscles daily and perhaps to offer some brief insight, a day in the life if you will. A true conspiracy of light will seek to cast light on the dark places and some of today was semi dark at least.

A policeman sees a drunk man searching for something under a streetlight and asks what the drunk has lost. He says he lost his keys and they both look under the streetlight together. After a few minutes the policeman asks if he is sure he lost them here, and the drunk replies, no, that he lost them in the park. The policeman asks whey he is searching here, and the drunk replies, “this is where the light is.”[2]

This excerpt comes from Wikipedia but it is an oft used parable. It just seems appropriate here.

So the day began with an early morning transport from Columbus to Kennesaw. Not an easy wake up call considering that Columbus is 2 1/2 hours from my house, and the transport had to be completed by 10 am. This meant getting up at 4 am. Nevertheless I did this and I was happy to do so. The client in question is someone I have worked with for sometime and I am so connected that I will pretty much do anything to offer support. The relationship is perhaps one of the strongest bonds I have experienced in my current job.

Next I had a regular CSI session. I have come to realize that my presence, support and clinical interviewing skills can be carried anywhere and used in the midst of any activity. So I have made it a point to try and make sessions for myself and my clients enjoyable as well as educational and therapeutic. In this case today I taught a client how to geocache. This is a fascinating little hobby for anyone with a GPS device and the wherewithal to search and not give up. The game is being used as a means of teaching the value of following directions, staying focused on a goal and not giving up, and developing patience (something you need a great deal of if you are following GPS coordinates to find a bullet shell sized marker that is hidden in a tree trunk). This was a good session though. We searched for two caches (treasures) and found 1 one of them. After finding the one, I asked the client what they had learned: “To never give up” was the resounding answer. I could not have hoped for better.

Here are some pics from our find:

The first pic was the actual cache we found. It looked like a rock on the top but this was on the bottom. The second gives a view from just a few feet away from the cache. This one was actually in a hidden area between 2 apartment complexes. The picture paints a serene image but there are actually cars and people all about just 100 feet in either direction. We did not encounter any muggles, but we were on the lookout.

After this 2 cancelled sessions and then the bombshell. I am a mandated reporter which means if I am privy to any information that could possibly harm someone, I am obligated to report to the authorities. This rule is there for a reason, I am just still getting to understand what it means and how to enact my duties ethically both towards my clients and towards the state laws that I am bound to. Lets just say that the situation was challenging, but I handled it with as much integrity as I could muster and in the end, just as George Hrab has stated in his geologic podcasts, things were not nearly as bad as I had made them out to be…thanks George for being my motivation to take the risks that I have to take.

If you have not checked out the Geologic Podcast, you can find it here: Geologic Podcast

George is not only a great musician, comedian, skeptic, and entertainer, but he also lets pearls of wisdom dangle in front of you on long car drives and you are left with mouth agape wondering why you had not thought of whatever he is talking about before.

Anyway, 2 more sessions after this, and then…..flat frikkin tire!

I love my little hybrid Insight. I mean, what better car for a counselor than one with the name Insight. I have driven it over 21000 miles since I got it last summer. A scary amount for a car so young but then movement is at least 50% of my job. Anyway, I do love my little car, but there is one thing I am really unhappy about. Visibility! The lights form an almost box like figure in front that makes everything outside the box seem darker than it would otherwise be. So I have had challenges with seeing at night as well as I would like. Well tonight, I hit two curbs while making right turns and the second one did the tire in. Sad because this is the first time I have had any real troubles with the car. Nevertheless it went flat while on my way home and I pulled over to check out what I could do. I was ready to call AAA or the insurance company. However, a  very nice and helpful police officer drove up and offered to help by shining his lights and helping me find the jack that was all too hidden from obvious view. He found it pretty easily. He said this is what comes from searching cars on a regular basis. Anyway, he was an incredibly nice fellow and I was very grateful for his help.

“I want to wear my bifocals, I want to see at night, I want to wear my bifocals, I want to see whats in the light”- sung to the tune of Queen’s bicycle.

This is the other possibility. In my last eye doctor visit he mentioned a future need for bifocals…what! Yes, bifocals. It seems my eyes are not as good as they once were and it could be that my night vision is starting to have some problems. I seem to be turning into my Grandaddy. He had a great deal of trouble seeing at night as well. I am not sure that bifocals help with night vision, but it has been harder to see at night as I have aged. Damn you mortality! No wonder I have called this the year of the conspiracy of light.

So I know this is a rather pedestrian post, but it felt good to write it all out. A venting of emotion and frustration if you will. But I am proud of a few things. While the day was pretty tough, I never got down on myself, never got overheated with frustration or emotion, and with the flat tire, i just got out and started doing what had to be done. This just did not effect me the way such things have in the past. I must have learned some of the stuff I am teaching to my clients lol. I wish they could have all seen me, taking it all in stride like a big boy lol.

For those who have read this far, thank you for your indulgence. This just felt necessary. Plus I have a meter on the blog daring to write 5 full blogs. Silent lucidity still looms. See you all soon!

